Rakusui was the pen name of Hakata businessman Mr Chikamasa Shimozawazenemon, who contributed to the development of Fukuoka. In 1906, Chikamasa built Sumiyoshi villa with a teahouse in this area. In 1995 the city of Fukuoka remodeled the garden and teahouse and opened the venue and named it Rakusui-en echoing its original name Rakusuian - a place where visitors can experience tea ceremony chado. Its most famous feature are its distinctive walls. The clay walls are made of reclaimed burnt roof tiles and rocks and from the war, called Hakatabei.